Steve Sutherland reviews Bandwagonesque by Teenage Fanclub, 26th October 1991

February 10, 2009

Steve Sutherland reviews Bandwagonesque by Teenage Fanclub, 26th October 1991

Steve Sutherland reviews Bandwagonesque by Teenage Fanclub, 26th October 1991.

And when I say “reviews”, I really mean “compares”. Despite the persistent cries of plagiarism this was still a huge Creation success at the time and the start of a lighter poppier sound (when a grungy/shoegaze direction was prevalent) which would eventually become Britpop.

I was never that much of a fan of the Fanclub though and besides, I always thought Grand Prix was better. After that record they slowly slipped off my radar and I’ve genuinely not thought about, or listened to a Teenage Fanclub track for years and years. So memory jogged, and as is now customary, I go to wikipedia to find out if the band have split up or are still together. And stone the crows it seems that in this case it’s the latter. Now I’m not sure if my surprise about this just proves how out of touch with music I have become and that Teenage Fanclub are musical colossus’ selling more records than they ever did before, or if, as I suspect, the band are struggling on for lack of anything better to do, somehow eeking out a living based on former glories. Time marches on and pop’s a fickle mistress.

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to “Steve Sutherland reviews Bandwagonesque by Teenage Fanclub, 26th October 1991”

  1. myyada Says:

    Nice. And a good Jawbox review, don’t think they did ever achieve their potential though.

  2. Bobsky Says:

    The Fanclub are awesome. Grand Prix is actually one of their weakest and their albums following that just get better. Man-Made (2005) is awesome.

    Who really cares what the hell you think, that’s the big question.

  3. Charles Says:

    Thanks Bobsky – you’re awesome


Leave a comment