Taylor Parkes reviews Underworld live at Lakota, 9th March 1996

September 2, 2008

Taylor Parkes reviews Underworld live at Lakota, 9th March 1996

I may as well keep scanning from this issue till it’s spent. We’ve had Simon Price’s Underworld album review a few days ago and so here’s an accompanying live review by Taylor Parkes.

I went to see Underworld when they played the Roundhouse recently. To begin with I hated it. Initially it seemed too desperate an attempt to recapture a moment from the past that could never come back. But as the evening progressed and the melodic notes of Rez began pinging around the circular venue the atmosphere changed. It began to feel more like the recognition and celebration of, what had once been present, not a doomed attempt to somehow revive the past. And from that point on everything changed for me. It turned into a brilliant show and I left elated with a huge smile on my face. No, I didn’t take drugs, but I did end up wishing I had.

Thanks for the flurry (does 4 count as a flurry?) of comments re Romo and the demise of the Melody Maker. Don’t want to start a witch hunt but I to look forward to any future blog post on the subject Taylor. Something for The Quietus perhaps?

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Taylor Parkes reviews Underworld live at Lakota, 9th March 1996”


  1. What a find!! Thanks for posting this. I was there. And at the Roundhouse. And I’ll be at the Southbank next month (that really will be a celebration!).
    Great site. Cheers!


Leave a comment