Taylor Parkes reviews Dex Dexter live at The Cell, 30th September 1995

July 5, 2009

Taylor Parkes reviews Dex Dexter live at The Cell, 30th September 1995

Taylor Parkes reviews Dex Dexter live at The Cell, 30th September 1995

This review’s a bit ‘high concept’ for me.

2 Responses to “Taylor Parkes reviews Dex Dexter live at The Cell, 30th September 1995”

  1. Taylor Parkes Says:

    The bloke’s name was (and is) Xav, not “Sab”. I remember asking people “what’s this bloke’s name?”, until someone said “Sab. S-A-B.” Terrible research.

    This isn’t very good, is it? I think I was homeless and coming off some kind of psychiatric medication when I wrote this, which wasn’t as exciting as it sounds (that time) but probably didn’t help. Worst thing of all, I kept my sense of humour.

  2. Chemistry Of Youth Says:

    How did Stewart Ubik’s The Cell earn its spot in the Clubs section of the MM Romo special? AFAIK Ubik had no business links with Hi Fi and Kevin or with Simon – it seems to have been a rival style-pop club which happened to be at the same venue as the Blitz 15 years earlier.

    It ran head to head with Club Skinny on Thursdays (as did the short-lived Roxy Motel Club at Brixton Fridge in early ’96) and apart from this DexDexTer gigs and one gig by Computer Blue in early ’96 I can’t find any gig listings for the club.


Leave a comment