Various album reviews and feature on Krautrock, 25th February 1995

July 29, 2008

Various album reviews including Massvie Attack vs The Mad Professor

Ian Watson reviews S*M*A*S*H’s mini-LP

Dave Simpson reviews The Very Best of Cream

David Stubbs reviews Massive Attack vs The Mad Professor

Simon Reynolds on recommended Krautrock records.

On reading David Stubbs admission that he used to make up his record review catalogue numbers (towards the bottom of the page) I was really curious to find an example and test the theory. This is the first I’ve found.

I’m not posting to prove a point at all, but it does seem that in this particular example the catalogue number isn’t made up – check the catalogue number here. I’m slightly disappointed now though – I was all set to file a late complaint. Will keep looking for further evidence.

You’d imagine that the implementation of something like this would be out of some form of long held tradition or legacy from ye olden dayes but the early (from this blog’s period) Maker reviews never had catalogue numbers. All of which begs the question – whose idea was this and why did they think it was necessary?

Keeping with the Stubbs theme of this post I also read this today which reminded me of the very, very funny Mr. Agreeable rant on the subject of Virgin Media. There’s also a very funny quasi spat between Stubbs & Mueller re Krautrock vs Cuntry on Facebook from the time they had some sort of DJ battle – read from the bottom of the page up.

Oh and S*M*A*S*H were always shite and we did forget they existed. No, I never saw them live. No, I don’t care. Taylor Parkes interview with S*M*A*S*H here – I think he concurs. Curiously the article begins by saying he reviewed the Mini-LP so I’m a little confused by this bit but it worth reading all the same. That last link from this blog “exploring the work of obscure and overlooked bands” that links to Archived Music Press.

I met one of my musical heroes last night. The conventional wisdom goes that you’re not supposed to meet your heroes because they’ll only end up disappointing you, but I think it’s more so that you can’t make a tit of yourself. He didn’t. Let’s hope I didn’t but I have my doubts.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

