Charts, 6th May 1989

February 17, 2010

Charts, 6th May 1989

Although I’ve posted some best of / end of year charts up before now I’ve never scanned in any of the regular weekly charts. It never occurred to me that there would be anyone interested in them as a) it doesn’t feature any actual writing and b) there’s already some excellent dedicated chart sites – http://www.chartstats.com – being one that’s particularly good.

However I had a request in the week from someone wanting to find out about old the indie charts “Something along the lines of Cherry Red’s Indie Hits 1980-89 would be ideal.”

So dear readers – I ask you – is this worth doing? Would it set your heart racing to be reminded once again of the anomalies of the indie chart back in the day where the likes of PWL artists Pat & Mick and Kylie nestled uneasily alongside Birdland and Front 242? Shall I dedicate the next couple of months of AMP to chronologically scanning in the indie charts from the first copy I’ve got from 1990 to the last from 1996? And in the meantime there’s always this aggregation of the indie charts from The Chart Show on youtube

I’ll keep this open for a couple of weeks and act accordingly.

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Charts, 6th May 1989”

  1. Richard Lloyd Says:

    Charles

    I’ve only just come across this post. I have been begging everyone from Cherry Red Records to The Official Charts Company to post this information or at least point me to a source so that I can catalog the information. I’ve even offered to do the work for nowt. Even if I don’t log the entire chart, I would like to know the number ones.
    Is there any way you might be able to help?

    Rich


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

