David Stubbs interviews Kraftwerk, 20th July 1991

November 9, 2008

David Stubbs interviews Kraftwerk, 20th July 1991

http://www.thequietus.com/articles/00605-country-western-versus-the-germanic-avant-garde-the-great-debate

At least Stubbs has been consistent in his love of krautrock as evidenced in this piece from 1991. Mueller’s 5,000 word articles in praise of Cuntry. A. Bumpkin and his ilk, being conspicuously absent from the pages of the Maker during the 90’s.

Which leaves me wondering when exactly did this bizarre affliction strike Mueller to such a debilitating degree. Is it the result of some sort of recent mid-life crisis or perhaps an unluckly side effect of diligent, socio-political globe trotting. “I’ve been around the world and I, I, I….I just love Nashville boy”

Nein, danke!

2 Responses to “David Stubbs interviews Kraftwerk, 20th July 1991”


  1. I tried with country at the Maker, really I did. However, most of my suggestions along those lines were met with – perhaps ironically, all things considered – tumbleweed, pitchforks, the warming of tar and fluffing of feathers.

    So I pretended to like indie rock.


  2. [...] of venue for Kraftwerk’s retrospectives are large kunsthallen, rather than concert halls. In an interview with David Stubbs for Melody Maker in 1991, Ralf Hütter, the only original member still part of Kraftwerk today, stated that, ‘We are [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

